Twitter Expert Connect

The Twitter expert connect is a project I did in tech class that is similar to Genius Hour in terms of learning about either careers we want to have in the future or just learn about a disease. Except we’re not just doing the easy Google search right off the bat. We’re talking to experts on Twitter. They could be professors at universities or teachers at school. But they don’t need to be. They could also be students like you who have researched your topic and have a clear understanding of it. But not celebrities. They already have enough attention they’re probably not gonna answer your question.

Me personally my subject was music and sound mixing. I already make music online, but I’m very good at it. I use Soundtrap as my studio. So I found soundtrap’s (@soundtrap) Twitter and I followed them. What they do is repost other users media of using soundtrap and creating beats. That’s where I learned that you can use midis on soundtrap. But not everyone uses soundtrap. So decided to follow Kevin LaSean (@KevinLaSean).

Kevin LaSean is a gaming YouTuber that is also rapper musician. He also started like me. He only slapped verses on already existing songs. He latter ended up getting producers and with enough practice he started making his own beats. I’ve asked him what 808s are and he gave me a pretty straight forward answer. He always feels free to answer any question his fans have for him. From time to time he live streams him making music on Twitch. but he lives in the U.S and I live in west Africa so he’s streaming while I’m sleeping. And when a Twitch stream ends it disappears. So I decided to around some more.

And then I came a across Reggie Couz (@ReggieCOUZ). Reggie Couz is a Youtube comedian who does music on the side, but he also likes to express his comedy through his music with some of his characters like “Bitterman” and “Holly Tony”. He also has a series called “Making Beats” that he does irregularly. In those series, Reggie simply makes a beat. And that’s good for me because I get to see the types of equipment that you need and learn what a tempo is and how creative you’re allowed to get. But I needed to know about some vocals presets.

Then I found Blue Nova (@BlueNovaBeats). Blue Nova is a music artist an engineer and is actually one of Kevin LaSean’s producers and he’s a beat seller on the internet. He has a YouTube channel where he uploads his music and free beats. He also does some vocal chords on Fl Studio. Although I don’t have Fl, like I said, I use SoundTrap. So I try to use SoundTrap’s features to manually get my own presets that sound good.

So after all that research I managed to gather some information on the subject I was interested in. And It was all through Twitter. You don’t only have to interact with the expert if they already have content about your project.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *